On Not Liking Some People

img_09_001Do you sometimes get the feeling of hate towards someone you haven’t really met or had the chance to know personally? Hate is a strong word… sige,  let’s just say “dislike”. Some may dislike PGMA or other politicians; some may dislike Conan O’Brien or other celebrities. We don’t even know them on a personal level.  In the same light,  why do we get affected by the death of someone we don’t know?  (yeah..i’m taking about MJ again!) Or why we tend to be more attentive to people as compared to the rest?  Is it possible to have positive feelings for everyone?

I don’t think so!  For me, that’s impossible. There will always be someone I will dislike.  Why? I don’t have the answer but I will try to analyze based on my own psyche.  Unfortunately, I’m one person who has so many pet peeves and it includes people. There are those that I’ve met and knew personally but end up disliking them altogether. This is because something could have been said or done which triggered the feeling of hostility.

Then there are those I’ve met but never tried to get to know them because I don’t want to waste time and effort on someone I don’t feel good about in the first instance.  I feel resentment or animosity towards anyone (as in ANYONE)  who gives me the impression that he or she doesn’t like me.  By instinct, it could be my defense mechanism to cope with “external threats”. For me, it’s a two-way street.  If that person wants to prove otherwise, that person needs to initiate so I could open up.

And there are the complete strangers whom I dislike because they are rude or simply hateful and annoying.  Sometimes, I dislike people just by their facial expression, the way they laugh or roll their eyes.  This, I think, could just be psychological. But still…

Maybe, within the recesses of my subconsciousness, I link the people I dislike to my own unpleasant circumstances in the past that seeing them or just by being with them represent negative feelings that result to insecurities, lack of trust, pain or even anger. Or maybe being judgmental has a lot to do with it?

I don’t know…. maybe I ought to start giving people the benefit of the doubt and finding balance between instinct and reason. Maybe..maybe…maybe…in due time.

Leave a comment